EWS Certificate 2024 How to Apply, Eligibility, Benefits, Documents

EWS Certificate 2024:-The Economically Weaker Section (EWS) is a public category in India designed to help low-income households secure housing. EWS certification is essential for booking affordable homes. This certification, exemplified by the 2019 EWS Certificate Application Form, is necessary for citizens to access various government benefits like education, financial aid, and job opportunities. To obtain these benefits, individuals must apply for an “EWS Certificate,” verified by the Indian government. Once approved, this certificate is granted to the applicant, enabling them to avail the government’s support. This article explores the significance, objectives, and advantages of the EWS Certificate.

Economically Weaker Sections Certificate

Dr. B.R. Ambedkar introduced reservation policies in India’s Constitution in 1950 to support disadvantaged groups like Scheduled Castes (SCs), Scheduled Tribes (STs), Backward Classes (BCs), and Economically Weaker Sections (EWS). This initiative aimed to empower them, showcasing their talents and protecting their rights. To obtain an EWS certificate, residents must meet specific criteria set by India.

EWS Certificate

The EWS law was approved by the President of India on January 12, 2019, and Gujarat adopted it on January 14. With the EWS Certificate, eligible individuals can benefit from a 10% reservation in government jobs and educational institutions. To claim this reservation, candidates must provide a valid EWS Certificate issued by relevant authorities. The certificate is lifelong but needs periodic renewal. Additionally, the Income and Asset Certificate, required for EWS benefits, is valid for one year and must be updated regularly.

Webland AP

EWS Certificate Overview

launched by The Central Government of India
Reservation Category Economically Weaker Sections (EWS)
Certificate Name EWS Certificate
Objective 10% reservation in jobs, institutions
Application Online/Offline
Certificate expiry After a year, it needs to be validated.
Category Trending
Web site https://services.india.gov.in/

Objectives Of EWS Certificate

The purpose of EWS is to support the poorest citizens of the nation. Many people in the country face dire economic conditions despite not being part of any scheduled castes. These individuals, struggling financially, can obtain an EWS certificate from the government. This certificate qualifies them for a 10% reservation benefit. To be eligible, candidates must have a valid certificate proving their legitimate income and property. With this certificate, they can access not only employment and education opportunities but also various other government programs aimed at improving their lives.

OROP Pension Table

Benefits Of EWS Certificate

After applying for the EWS Certificate, candidates gain several benefits:

  • Inquiry About Rights: Applicants can inquire about their rights concerning various government programs.
  • Financial Assistance: Individuals in need receive financial aid through the reservation.
  • Educational Benefits: Central institutions under UGC’s jurisdiction must follow EWS reservation, offering seats to EWS students.
  • Subsidies: Applicants might qualify for subsidies on programs offered by Central and State governments for local welfare.

Economically Weaker Sections Certificate Eligibility Criteria

  • EWS reservation in India is for Indian nationals not covered by SC, ST, or OBC quotas, with a household income below Rs. 8 lakh per year.
  • This reservation is specific to the general category and applies to individuals with an annual income below Rs. 8 lakhs.
  • Eligibility also includes owning agricultural land less than 5 acres, residential floor space less than 1000 square feet, and a residential plot area below 100 square yards.

Delhi Bazaar Portal

Documents Required

To obtain an EWS certificate, the following documents are required:

  1. Aadhar Card (mandatory for identification)
  2. Voter ID Card
  3. Educational records including mark sheets and higher certificates
  4. Certificate issued by two different Gazette officers
  5. Income Tax Return Payment (Form 1551)
  6. Photographs
  7. Ration card
  8. Residential certificate
  9. Application form with a court stamp fee of 2/-
  10. Non-judicial document declaration fee of Rs. 10/- as per government order (GO).

How to Apply for EWS Certificate Online 2024?

To apply for an EWS certificate, follow these steps:

  1. Visit the official Website https://services.india.gov.in/.
  2. Select “Revenue Department” from the options.
  3. Choose “INCOME CERTIFICATE” from the services provided by the Revenue Department.
  4. Fill out the application form with your details, including full name, parents’ or spouse’s names, Aadhaar number, gender, age, and date of birth.
  5. Upload the required documents and proceed to the “Show Payment” page.
  6. Make the payment and click “Confirm Payment” to complete the process.
  7. Your EWS application will be submitted, and you can check its status online for approval.

Note: The statement above is just an example.

ABA Registration

Economically Weaker Sections Certificate Offline Application Process

  • To apply for EWS, visit the local “meeseva center” in person. Obtain the EWS Application Form from the designated authority.
  • Fill out the form neatly with a ballpoint pen, ensuring it is correctly formatted.
  • Attach all necessary documents discussed earlier, and self-attest scanned documents.
  • Submit the completed form to the responsible person at the meeseva center.
  • Remember, the offline method is the only way to apply for EWS.

New Registration on EWS Certificate

  • To get started, visit the official EWS website. On the homepage, select the “New Registration” option.
  • Input the required information on the new page that appears.
  • After filling out the form, click “submit.” Your new user registration will be completed.
  • Now, you can proceed to register your new business using this method.

Indian Diplomat Expelled


In conclusion, the EWS Certificate in 2024 serves as a crucial avenue for empowering economically weaker sections in India. By simplifying the application process and ensuring eligibility for those with an annual income below Rs. 8 lakh, the certificate opens doors to essential benefits. Offering opportunities in education, employment, and government programs, it fosters inclusivity and financial stability. The necessary documents, including Aadhar card and income records, streamline the application process. As a testament to the government’s commitment to social equity, the EWS Certificate not only enriches lives but also signifies a step towards a more equal and progressive society.


How can I apply for the EWS Certificate in 2024?

Visit the official website, complete the application form, and submit the required documents to the designated authority.

Who is eligible for the EWS Certificate?

Indian nationals with an annual income below Rs. 8 lakh and not covered under SC, ST, or OBC reservations are eligible.

What benefits does the EWS Certificate provide?

EWS Certificate offers 10% reservation in jobs, education, and government programs for eligible candidates.

What documents are needed for EWS Certificate application?

Documents like Aadhar card, voter ID, income records, and residential proof are necessary.

Is there an age limit for EWS Certificate eligibility?

No, there is no specific age limit for EWS Certificate eligibility; it is based on income criteria.

Most Handsome Man

Acharya Kunal Biography

Jio Financial Services

Leave a Comment